fbpx
Benoit-Frehel-Wildsuits-Designer-wetsuits-2
A typical day starts around 9:30 am with a good coffee and croissant, we discuss 5/10 minutes of everything and nothing...

Who are you? Who are you?

My name is Benoît, I am 21 years old and I am from St Marc sur mer in Loire Atlantique. Currently I live in Nantes and every weekend I go back to St Marc to see the friends at the sea and my girlfriend.

Tell us a little about your background.

I have a fairly classic background for someone who made up his mind early in his studies. After high school in St Nazaire, I went to Nantes to the arts centre La Joliverie. After the baccalaureate I was admitted to AGR, the image school that introduced me to the world of graphic design. I have been specializing in digital graphics for a few years now.

How did you become a designer at Wildsuits? 

A friend who takes pictures and videos for Wildsuits sent me a job offer that Wildsuits had posted on Facebook and Linkedin. I sent them my CV and a short presentation e-mail. After a few days, Antoine co-founder of Wildsuits called me and after a little face-to-face meeting, we started this great adventure.

Are you surfing yourself? Do you have any other passion? 

I wouldn't say that I'm really a surfer, the Ocean is my passion, and that's where I find my main inspiration. I like surfing, longboarding, water photography, fishing sailing or even chill at the beach.

I am also passionate about silver photography and vintage objects. For me, it is graphically interesting to see the graphic techniques of the time.

How is your work at Wildsuits going?

A typical day starts around 9:30 am with a good coffee and croissants, we discuss 5/10 minutes of everything and nothing and the rest of the day it really depends on what Wildsuits needs, or if there are good surf conditions or not. Between two coffees I show Antoine my design, if he doesn't like it, we move on, if he thinks there is potential, we send a little message to Olivier to know his opinion. Then, I try to answer their requests while keeping my style.

From a technical point of view, can you explain how you work to make a visual?

The general idea: I try to understand the final objective of using the visual. Once I feel ready, I move on to the sketch part. After the realization of several sketches I select the three best. Then I digitize them and rework them with illustrator before making the last modifications on Photoshop.

Oh yes, it's a hell of a job! And for which job did you have the most fun doing for Wildsuits? 

Work on merchandising designs. I really enjoy making visuals for clothes, I like to write an idea, a story on a t-shirt or something.

How do you consider yourself different from your colleagues?


We are all different, we have different inspirations, different hobbies, so it has to be reflected in our work. For me, it is really a passionate profession that allows us to express ourselves and I am really happy to be able to combine my passions and bring my little artistic touch to Wildsuits.

Thank you for this Benoit Interview, and we are really looking forward to launching the new Wildsuits t-shirt collection with you.

fbpx
Benoit Frehel - Wildsuits - Designer - combinaisons
Une journée type commence vers 9 h 30 avec un bon café-croissant, on discute 5/10 minutes de tout et de rien …

Qui es-tu ?

Je m’appelle Benoît, j’ai 21 ans et je suis originaire de St Marc sur mer en Loire Atlantique. Actuellement je vis à Nantes et tous les week-ends je rentre à St Marc pour voir les copains la mer et ma copine.

Raconte nous un peu ton parcours.

J’ai un parcours assez classique pour quelqu’un qui s’est décidé tôt dans ses études. Après le collège à St Nazaire, je suis allé à Nantes au pôle des arts la Joliverie. Après le bac j’ai été admis à l’AGR l’école de l’image qui m’a fait découvrir le monde du graphisme. Ça fait maintenant quelques années que je me spécialise dans le graphisme digital.

Comment es-tu arrivé à devenir designer chez Wildsuits ? 

Un ami qui fait des photos et vidéos pour Wildsuits m’a envoyé une offre d’emploi que Wildsuits avait publié sur Facebook et Linkedin. Je leur ai envoyé mon CV et un petit e-mail de présentation. Après quelques jours, Antoine co-founder de Wildsuits m’a appelé et après un petit entretien en face-à-face, on a commencé cette belle aventure.

Es-tu toi-même surfer ? As- tu d’autre passion ? 

Je ne dirais pas que je suis réellement un surfeur, l’Océan, c’est ma passion, et c’est là ou je trouve mon inspiration principale.  J’aime autant faire du surf, longboard, des photos aquatiques, de la voile de la pêche ou encore du “chill” à la plage.

Je suis également passionné par la photographie argentique et par les objets vintage. Pour moi, c’est graphiquement intéressant de voir les techniques graphiques de l’époque.

Comment se déroule ton travail chez Wildsuits ?

Une journée type commence vers 9 h 30 avec un bon café-croissant, on discute 5/10 minutes de tout et de rien et le reste de la journée ça dépend vraiment de ce que Wildsuits a besoin, ou s’il y a des bonnes conditions de surf ou pas. Entre deux cafés je montre à Antoine mon design, s’ il ne l’aime pas, on passe à autre chose, s’il pense qu’il y a du potentiel, on envoie un petit message à Olivier pour connaître son avis. Ensuite, j’essaye de répondre à leurs demandes tout en gardant mon style.

D’un point de vue technique, tu peux nous expliquer comment tu travailles pour faire un visuel ?

L’idée générale: j’essaye de bien cerner l’objectif final de l’utilisation du visuel. Une fois que je me sens prêt, je passe à la partie croquis. Après la réalisation de plusieurs croquis je sélectionne les trois meilleurs. Ensuite je les digitalise et je les retravaille  avec  illustrator avant d’apporter les dernières modifications sur Photoshop.

Ah oui, c’est un sacré travail! Et pour quel travail as- tu pris le plus de plaisir à faire pour Wildsuits? 

Travailler sur les designs de merchandisings. Ça me passionne vraiment de faire des visuels pour les vêtements, j’aime retranscrire une idée une histoire sur un t-shirt ou autre.

En quoi te considères-tu différent de tes collègues ?

 
On est tous différents, on a des inspirations, des loisirs différents du coup forcément ça se retranscrit dans notre travail. Pour moi, c’est vraiment un métier de passionnés qui nous permet de nous exprimer et je suis vraiment heureux de pouvoir allier mes passions et apporter ma petite touche artistique à Wildsuits.

Merci pour cette Interview Benoit, et on a vraiment hâte de lancer la nouvelle collection de t-shirts Wildsuits avec toi.