fbpx
Maxime Gaborit wetsuitKayak waveski

Interview with Maxime Gaborit, 2019 European Waveski champion. Maxime faced 70 of the best competitors in the discipline during the European Championship in Tanchet (Vendée) carried by the Côte de Lumière Canoe and Kayak.

My next goal is the World Wave Ski surfing title to be held in HUANCHACO,Peru in 2020.

Hi Maxime you have just been crowned European Waveski Champion, how do you feel?

I am happy and proud to have won this great European Championship title! It means a lot to me, it's my first big open title (Maxime was already crowned world junior waveski champion in 2016). I have just fulfilled a double dream, to win an international title in open and at home.

Tell us a little bit about how this competition went?

The competition took place on the beach of Tanchet in "Les Sables d'Olonne, Vendée"

Day 1: Off for the open, so I encouraged the juniors and womens of the French waveski team.

Day 2: I had my first non-eliminating round against my "buddy Theo" and I qualified directly for round 3. Round 3 I fell against Guilbert in "man on man" and I passed my heat with nice waves.
Day 3: The day started directly with the 1/4 finals where I met again with Theo in "man on man". During this heat we missed some waves but I managed to score two small waves that allowed me to win. In the semi-final against Odei Exteberria (world number 3, the heat started well for me and I even benefit from a priority error on the part of Odei who sends me directly to the final

Day 4: Day of the final, I face Virgile Humbert, vice-world champion, in difficult conditions. I managed to place 2 scores fairly quickly which allowed me to play strategically and block Virgil to prevent him from taking good waves, which worked!

Oh yes, very beautiful and long journey! Did you have any special preparation for the competition?

I didn't really have any special preparation. After each training session I always give 100% of myself. Moreover, I was on my homeshot, so I know that wave by heart which allowed me to approach this competition more serenely than the others. I still had pressure on my shoulders, I had no right to make mistakes in front of my friends and audience.

A quick word about your waveski equipment and your next sporting objectives to be achieved?

My next goal is the World Wave Ski Championship that will take place in HUANCHACO, Peru in 2020. There are also the French championships this year but I will go in freeride mode and without pressure. I've already reached my goal for the season and the rest will be just bonus!

I thank my sponsors for encouraging me and all the support. I thank kriss for making the right board to win, solamanzi for the accessories that hold strong, double dutch for unbreakable paddles, Octopus for the preparation and support throughout the year, Riders match to follow me and allow me to spread my performances and of course Wildsuits for the wetsuits that adapt super well to waveski surfing and who also use products that do not destroy the planet...!

What are you planning now to celebrate the title?

I'm going on a surf trip to Portugal with my girlfriend and my dog. We will enjoy the sun and the pastel of natas before returning to the Vendée?

Thank you for this Interview Maxime! The whole Wildsuits team congratulates for this great result. "On the wave, be wild" & "Out of the wave, behave"

Editor: The Wildsuits Team.

Maxime gaborit champion d’Europe de waveski

Interview avec Maxime Gaborit, champion d’Europe 2019 de Waveski. Maxime a fait face à 70 concurrents parmi les meilleurs de la discipline pendant le championnat d’Europe à Tanchet (Vendée) porté par le Canoë kayak Côte de Lumière.

Salut Maxime, tu viens tout juste d’être sacré champion d’Europe de Waveski, comment te sens-tu ?

Je suis content et fier d’avoir gagné ce beau titre de champion d’Europe! Cela représente énormément pour moi, c’est mon premier gros titre en open (NDLR Maxime a déjà été sacrée champion du monde de waveski junior en 2016). Je viens de réaliser un double rêve, de remporter un titre international en open et à la maison.

Raconte-nous un peu comment s’est déroulée cette compétition ?

La compétition s’est déroulée sur la plage de Tanchet aux sables d’Olonne en Vendée.

Jour 1

Jour off pour les open, j’ai donc encouragé les juniors et les ondines de l’équipe de France de waveski.

Jour 2

J’ai eu ma première série non éliminatoire contre mon pote Théo je me suis qualifié directement pour le round 3. Round 3 je suis tombé contre clément Guilbert en “man on man” et j’ai passé la série dans des grosses conditions.

Jour 3

La journée a commencé directement par les 1/4 de finale ou j’ai retrouvé Théo en “man on man”. Durant cette série nous avons manqué de vagues mais j’ai réussi à scorer deux petites vagues qui m’ont permis de m’imposer. En 1/2 finale face à Odei Exteberria (numéro 3 mondial, la série s’est bien commencée pour moi et je profite même d’une erreur de priorité de la part d’Odei qui m’envoie directement en finale

Jour 4

Jour de la finale, j’affronte Virgile Humbert vice-champion du monde, dans des conditions pas faciles. J’arrive à placer 2 scores assez rapidement ce qui m’a permis de jouer stratégiquement et de bloquer Virgile pour l’empêcher de prendre des bonnes vagues, ce qui a marché !

Très beau et long parcours ! As-tu eu une préparation spéciale pour cette compétition de waveski ?

Je n’ai pas vraiment eu de préparation spéciale. Après chaque entrainement je me donne toujours à 100%. De plus, j’étais sur ma vague donc je la connais par cœur ce qui m’a permis d’aborder cette compétition plus sereinement que les autres. J’avais quand même une pression sur mes épaules, je n’avais pas le droit à l’erreur en face de mes amis et public.

Un petit mot sur ton matériel de Waveski et tes prochains objectifs sportifs à atteindre ?

Mon prochain objectif est le championnat du monde de waveski qui se déroulera a HUANCHACO au Pérou en 2020. Il y a aussi les championnats de France cette année mais j’irai en mode freeride et sans pression. J’ai déjà atteint mon objectif de la saison le reste sera que du bonus !

Je remercie mes sponsors de m’encourager, je remercie kriss de faire la bonne planche pour aller gagner, solamanzi pour les accessoires qui tiennent fort, double dutch pour des pagaies incassables, Octopus pour la préparation et le soutien tout au long de l’année, Riders match de me suivre et me permettre de diffuser mes performances et bien sûr Wildsuits pour les combinaisons vraiment au top qui s’adaptent super bien au waveski et qui en plus utilisent des produits qui ne détruisent pas la planète…!

Qu’as-tu prévu pour fêter ton titre ?

Je vais partir en surf trip au Portugal avec ma copine et mon chien. On va profiter du soleil et des pastel de natas avant de retourner en Vendée ?

Merci de nous avoir accordé du temps Maxime ! Toute la Wildsuits Family te félicite pour ce superbe résultat ! On est persuadé que les titres vont continuer à arriver en “Pagaies”.

On the Wave, Be Wild, Out of the Wave, Behave