fbpx
  • Name: David Marin
  • Age: 38 years old
  • Country: Spain
  • Home Spot : Cambrils
  • Sponsors: Eleveight, Dracsboard, Wildsuits Europe
  • Favorite Tricks : Rodeo Kiteloop
David Marin Professional Kitesurfer from Wildsuits
Kite-surfing David Marin Wildsuits Team

DAVID MARIN

Hello David, how are you? Can you introduce yourself in a few lines?

My name is David Marín Fuentes, I am 38 years old and I currently live in Cambrils (Spain).
I started sailing in 2003, we were practically the first kiteboarders in our region. There was no school or person who could teach us how it worked, it was a difficult but fun start. We quickly got hooked and started to travel looking for places to kitesurf.

In 2009, I started to compete in kite competitions and I haven't stopped until today.
I love kitesurfing competition and I have done almost all the disciplines that exist in kitesurfing like, Freestyle, straples freestyle, waves, racing, slalom etc..

My best titles:

  • 3rd Spanish Championship 2019 (Strapless)
  • 1st Spanish Championship 2018 (Strapless)
  • 4th Spanish Championship 2017 (Strapless)
  • 4th Spanish Championship 2015 (Slalom)
  • 1 Champion of Catalonia 2011/2012/2013 (Race)
  • 2nd International Championship Brazil 2012 (Race)

Do you wrinkle more in Twin tip or strapless?

I'm currently focusing on Strapless, because that's what I'm doing in competition right now. I've been doing the twin tip for 15 years and I love it, but now I'm having a lot more fun and enjoying surfing.

You were Spanish champion in 2018 and you follow the GKA circuit. Can you tell us what is the main difference between these 2 competitions?

The Spanish championship (SKL) consists of 3 competitions spread all over the country (Huelva, Valencia and Tarifa). The competitor with the highest number of points in the 3 competitions wins the championship.
The world championships (GKA) work almost in the same way as the Spanish championship. Competitors get points in the different events in the world. Currently there are about 6 events in the world. I was able to participate in several events in Portugal, Cape Verde and Tarifa. I got my best results in the Tarifa events in 2018 and 2019 with a 9th place.

Do you have any particular goals for the coming years?

My goals for the next few years are to continue sailing and competing at the highest level, in freestyle strapless and in waves, because that's how I enjoy the sport the most.
For this year 2020, I will try to do all the events of the Spanish championship and attend all the events I can of the World Championship.

Do you have other kitesurfing sponsors besides Wildsuits?

I am currently competing for the Eleveight brand as a main sponsor. Also Dracsboards collaborates as a sponsor, he is my trusted shaper and helps me to have my boards always in perfect condition.

 

How do you choose a kiteboarding kite?

In general, we have several sizes of wings. We use them according to the wind intensity. If there is a lot of wind, we use a small wing size. If there is very little wind, we use larger sizes. There are also different kite constructions for different modalities, such as the wave or foil kite or the freestyle kite. Currently I use the RS model for training and competition in Strapless and the WS model for sailing in big wave storms.

What's your favorite face?

The Rodeo Kiteloop, is a very spectacular trick for which you get a lot of altitude and a lot of power. In the air, with the board between your legs, you move the kite at maximum power and it comes out to the front. This is one of the most powerful tricks that exist today.

What are, according to you, the two best kitesurfing spots in Spain?

  • Riumar, is located in the Ebro Delta Natural Park in Tarragona. It has wave and flat sea conditions. It is a perfect environment for the practice of this sport all year round. You will find several kite schools here as it is a very safe place to practice kite, with very long beaches, shallow water and a very constant wind, especially in summer.
  • Sancti Petri, is a small beach next to the city of Cadiz, the environment is wonderful and when it is windy, it is an ideal place to sail. The water is flat and the waves are numerous. It is a wonderful place to visit even when there are no sailing conditions.

What would you recommend to someone who would like to start kiteboarding?

The best advice I can give to someone who wants to get into kitesurfing is to take beginner's lessons with a professional. We can't forget that it's a risky sport and that we have to be very careful, especially at the beginning. Having a professional accompanying you will help you a lot to progress faster and safer.

fbpx
  • Nom : David Marin
  • Âge : 38 ans
  • Pays : Espagne
  • Home Spot : Cambrils
  • Sponsors : Eleveight, Dracsboard, Wildsuits Europe
  • Tricks Favoris : Rodeo Kiteloop
David Marin Kitesurfeur professionnel de Wildsuits
Kite-surf David Marin Wildsuits Team

DAVID MARIN

Hello David tu vas bien ? peux-tu te présenter en quelques lignes ?

Je m’appelle David Marín Fuentes, j’ai 38 ans et je vis actuellement à Cambrils (Espagne).
J’ai commencé à naviguer en 2003, nous étions pratiquement les premiers kitesurfeurs de notre région. Il n’y avait pas d’école ou de personne qui pouvait nous apprendre comment ça marchait, c’était un début difficile mais amusant. Nous sommes rapidement devenus accros et nous avons commencé à voyager à la recherche d’endroits pour faire du kitesurf.

En 2009, j’ai commencé à faire des compétitions de kite et je n’ai pas arrêté jusqu’à aujourd’hui.
J’aime la compétition de kitesurf et j’ai fait pratiquement toutes les disciplines qui existent dans le kite comme, le Freestyle, les straples freestyle, les vagues, la course, le slalom etc.

Mes meilleurs titres :

  • 3ème Championnat d’Espagne 2019 (Strapless)
  • 1er Championnat d’Espagne 2018 (Strapless)
  • 4e Championnat d’Espagne 2017 (Strapless)
  • 4ème Championnat d’Espagne 2015 (Slalom)
  • 1 Champion de Catalogne 2011/2012/2013 (Course)
  • 2ème Championnat international Brésil 2012 (Course)

Tu rides plus en Twin tip ou en strapless ?

Je me concentre actuellement sur le Strapless, parce que c’est ce que je fais en compétition en ce moment. Je pratique le twin tip depuis 15 ans et j’adore ça, mais maintenant je m’amuse beaucoup plus et j’apprécie le surf.

Tu as été champion d’Espagne en 2018 et tu suis le circuit GKA. Peux-tu nous dire quelle est la principale différence entre ces 2 compétitions ?

Le championnat d’Espagne (SKL) se compose de 3 compétitions réparties dans tout le pays (Huelva, Valence et Tarifa). Le concurrent qui obtient le plus grand nombre de points dans les 3 épreuves remporte le championnat.
Les championnats du monde (GKA) fonctionnent presque de la même manière que dans le championnat d’Espagne. Les concurrents obtiennent des points dans les différentes épreuves dans le monde. Actuellement, il y a environ 6 épreuves dans le monde entier. J’ai pu participer à plusieurs épreuves au Portugal, au Cap Vert et à Tarifa. J’ai obtenu mes meilleurs résultats aux épreuves de Tarifa en 2018 et 2019 avec une 9ème place.

As-tu des objectifs particuliers pour les années à venir ?

Mes objectifs pour les prochaines années sont de continuer à naviguer et à concourir au plus haut niveau, en freestyle sans bretelles et en vagues, car c’est ainsi que j’apprécie le plus ce sport.
Pour cette année 2020, je vais essayer de faire toutes les épreuves du championnat d’Espagne et d’assister à toutes les épreuves que je peux du championnat du monde.

As-tu d’autres sponsors de kitesurf hormis Wildsuits ?

I am currently competing for the Eleveight brand as a main sponsor. Also Dracsboards collaborates as a sponsor, he is my trusted shaper and helps me to have my boards always in perfect condition.

 

Comment choisis-tu une aile de Kitesurf ?

En général, nous avons plusieurs tailles d’ailes. Nous les utilisons en fonction de l’intensité du vent. S’il y a beaucoup de vent, nous utilisons une aile de petite taille. S’il y a très peu de vent, nous utilisons des tailles plus grandes. Il existe également différentes constructions d’ailes pour différentes modalités, comme le cerf-volant de vague ou de foil ou l’aile de freestyle. Actuellement, j’utilise le modèle RS pour l’entraînement et la compétition en Strapless et le modèle WS pour la navigation dans les tempêtes de grosses vagues.

Quelle est ta figure préférée ?

Le Rodeo Kiteloop, est un trick très spectaculaire pour lequel vous obtenez beaucoup d’altitude et beaucoup de puissance. En l’air, avec la planche entre les jambes, vous déplacez l’aile à la puissance maximale et elle sort vers l’avant. C’est l’un des tricks les plus puissants qui existent aujourd’hui.

Quels sont, selon toi, les deux meilleurs spots de kitesurf en Espagne ?

  • Riumar, est situé dans le parc naturel du delta de l’Ebre à Tarragone. On y trouve des conditions de vagues et de mer plate. C’est un environnement parfait pour la pratique de ce sport tout au long de l’année. Vous y trouverez plusieurs écoles de kite car c’est un endroit très sûr pour la pratique du kite, avec de très longues plages, peu de profondeur et un vent très constant, surtout en été.
  • Sancti Petri, est une petite plage à côté de la ville de Cadix, l’environnement est merveilleux et quand il y a du vent, c’est un endroit idéal pour naviguer. L’eau y est plate et les vagues y sont nombreuses. C’est un endroit magnifique à visiter même quand il n’y a pas de conditions de navigation.

Que recommanderais-tu à quelqu’un qui souhaiterait commencer le kitesurf ?

Le meilleur conseil que je puisse donner à quelqu’un qui veut se lancer dans le kite est de suivre des cours pour débutants avec un professionnel. Nous ne pouvons pas oublier que c’est un sport à risques et que nous devons être très prudents, surtout au début. Avoir un professionnel qui vous accompagne vous aidera beaucoup à progresser plus vite et en toute sécurité.